IPL 2018 Match 8 LIVE! Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab; Full Scorecard, Commentary, Updates

Virat Kohli led Royal Challengers Bangalore will face Kings XI Punjab in match number eight of the Indian Premier League at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Friday.

RCB went down to Kolkata Knight Riders in their opening match, unable to withstand a rollicking 17-ball fifty from Sunil Narine. ABipl de Villiers and Virat Kohli batted well, but their simultaneous dismissals hurt the team.

Click here for LIVE Updates, match commentary full scorecard of IPL Match 8: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab

RCB will overall though be happy with Brendon McCullum, who gave the team a brilliant start in the first match with a 27-ball 43. Even though Kohli batted well, he was a bit show, so he would need to raise his game against Punjab.

Among others, the likes of Quinton de Kock, Sarfaraz Khan will be expected to bat better. In the bowling, Kohli is likely to depend on Umesh Yadav and Chris Woakes, who claimed big wickets in the first match. The spin twins of Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar however gave away 77 runs and did not claim much wickets. They will need to do better.

Punjab, on the other hand, will go into the match having defeated Delhi Daredevils by six wickets. For Punjab, KL Rahul blasted the fastest-ever fifty in IPL history. Apart from Rahul, Karun Nair also scored a fifty in 33 balls. However, Yuvraj Singh struggled, making 12 off 22 balls. Will he be retained?

Big-hitters Chris Gayle and Aaron Finch, who did not get a chance in the first match, may come in for the game against RCB. Punjab’s bowlers did well against Delhi with 17-year-old spinner Mujeeb-ur-Rahman picking two wickets. Mohit Sharma also shone with the ball.

Head-to-Head Record

Played 20. Kings XI Punjab won 12, Royal Challengers Bangalore won 8

Head-to-Head Record at Bangalore

Played 9. Kings XI Punjab won 5, Royal Challengers Bangalore won 4

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (C), Moeen Ali, Corey Anderson, Murugan Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Aniket Choudhary, Colin de Grandhomme, Quinton de Kock (W), Pavan Deshpande, AB de Villiers, Aniruddha Joshi, Sarfaraz Khan, Kulwant Khejroliya, Brendon McCullum, Mandeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Pawan Negi, Parthiv Patel, Navdeep Saini, Tim Southee, Manan Vohra, Washington Sundar, Chris Woakes, Umesh Yadav

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (C), Akshdeep Nath, Mayank Agarwal. Mayank Dagar, Ben Dwarshuis, Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul (W), Ankit Rajpoot, Pradeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Yuvraj Singh



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: